Day 3 – 4 : Bursa, the City of Green

As soon as I got up and could already see a couple of people exercise in the park, I had a quick wash up and was prepared to go. Following my guidebook, I first came to the hill on which the citadel was built and remains of the Sultans kept and treasured. Along the way uphill I also saw students walking to school and I stood outside the school to observe their flag raising and singing of the national anthem.

After I came to Turkey I found the Turkish people have a very strong alignment of their personal identity with that of the nation, which manifest itself every time when one tells me  why they think it is not important to acquire English as a second language. Turkey, in spite of its vicinity to both the European and Asian countries, its people have not really reached out far to experience the differences in these cultures. This is I believe largely due to the felt (to the foreigners) anachronism in the people, making them believe Turkey is still strong with solitude from the independent war they had won in the 1920s. The pride in them and the antagonism against the foreign invaders have made their way till the 21st century but fortunately, the effect is ebbing. I had also seen students from the Anatolia school (high school of special program for the more academically inclined students) who can converse in English perfectly.

The citadel is the oldest part of Bursa and also provided a strategic defense site in the past. It has been transformed into a little town inside and you can see market selling fruits and vegetables on the way.

A perfect view from the top of the hill where you can enjoy a cup of çay and spend the entire morning idling away (if you have time to spare). You can also see the stadium from here. The tombs of the Ottoman Kings are just nearby and are open for a certain time in the day only. The photo depicts the tomb of Osman Gazi and his wife and children.

Osman Gazi is the founder of Ottoman Empire which took over the then debilitated Byzantine Empire in terms of power and conquered lands and lasted as a super power for six centuries.

Leave a comment